A Summer To Remember!

This past summer is defiantly one that I will always remember but not for something I achieved but for what my little brother achieved. After graduating high school my brother had two choices he could go to college as a regular student or PG (post grad) a year before college. He always wanted to play lacrosse in college just like I did but wanted to make sure he went to a good school as well. Taking this in mind he had many chances to play D1 lacrosse but the schools weren’t the right fit so he decided to do one last recruiting tournament at the Under Armor All american games where every kid was already recruited besides him. My family and I arrived in Maryland excited to see what was in store and what talent was here. The weather was perfect, 75 degrees and sunny which is anyones ideal climate to play in. My brother walked over to his team which was Team New England but what makes this funny was that my brother was the only kid not from the New England area. A Florida boy making the team isn’t common at all, its actually unheard of but he beat out 185 kids to make it. As he was gearing up my dad and I walked around to watch some teams and from sideline to sideline there was coaches everywhere.

parker-giarratana-mens-lax

We looked at each other in amaze never seeing so many coaches especially cause we have been to almost every big tournament in the country from when I was growing up. This could be the opportunity my little brother needs and we made sure he knew he had our full support no matter what, but I knew he would do what he does best and thats play lacrosse. What makes this experience so amazing for me though was not just watching him play but to know that he is better than I was at that age and for any older brother seeing his younger sibling accomplish such a great task makes it all worth it. But back to the story. The whistle blew to start the game as we where about to sit down to watch some great lacrosse. Once my brother got in you could look over at my mom and see how nervous she was which wasn’t an uncommon thing for her but the first time he touched the ball he had a time and room shot the stung the right corner taking the lead for his team. We all jumped up as we saw it and knew that this tournament was gong to find him a home to play at.

This goal was just the being of something special for him and the family as well. As the games went on the weather stayed the same and the talent got better playing teams from upstate New York, New jersey, and Maryland. He knew what was at stake and how he needed to handle it so we just let him do him but being family we had to coach him at different parts of the day for a second or two because thats what family does. After his games we went back to the hotel to shower and get ready for dinner. We had bunch of friends/coaches that played in the tournament so we all just went to dinner together and had a good time. My brother was just about to dig in to his cheeseburger when his phone rang saying unknown caller but we all knew this could be a coach trying to get a hold of him to we all yelled at him “ANSWER IT”. He answered it and walked away from the tables just a few minutes later he came back saying he just received and offer to play lacrosse and all I could remember was the big smile from my brother and how happy he looked. Being around him my whole life this moment was to spectacular to see my little brother playing lacrosse in college and doing what he loves to do is priceless. But fast forward to now he is the leading scorer for his team and also a two time rookie of the week for his conference making him a threat on the field. Family is the most important thing in life so hold on to it!

Leave a Reply

